HOSPITALITY&CUDDLES

Hello!How are you? Last Friday I had some guests. At the beginning of the week Davide and I decided to have fun together with our common friends .. so I spent the free time thinking of something easy and tasty to cook, in only a half-afternoon available. First of all, friday afternoon I prepared the table “dressing”: something simple, informal, and blue-coloured. Squared floreal dishes and blue glasses. Big blue daisies on the table cover. Some white candle for a nice, cozy atmosphere. “All right” – i said to me-“now i can start prepare the dinner!”

20131129_160304

20131129_160207

I started preparing “pomodori confit”, they’re good both as a “antipasto”, that is a small appetizer, and as a “contorno” (side-dish); i can say for explanation that they’re dried tomatoes flavored with salt, pepper, sugar, extra-virgin oil, oregano, parsley, and garlic, if you like it. I cutted in halves the tomatoes, i put them on a baking tray (already dressed) and i regulated the temperature of the oven at 140 °C for 120 minutes. (convention oven, not fan oven or thet’ll burn)

20131129_180447
20131129_195632

I like them cause they’re both salty and sweety flavoured, they’re perfect with delicate fish dishes. I served them in some tea-cups. I used a quality of tomatoes that we call “Pomodoro Pachino”, that is a variety grown in Sicily and in the Southern Italy.
Instead of the slices of bread to accompain the dishes, i made some breadsticks (salatini). In the middle, I put a tiny slice of bacon (pancetta) and i made some twisted stuffed “salatini” with the puff pastry. (pasta sfoglia)

20131129_204111

My main dish was a classic”risotto with salsiccia”: i used meat stock to cook the rice, in a frying pan I cooked the sausage (without oil, salt and pepper: I used a bolognese sausage, handmade and really spiced, with much pepper). After 35-40 minutes, i added to the rice the sausage and finally the butter, and out of the burner, I continued to amalgamate the ingredients, till the risotto become creamy.

20140404_201332

The second dish was made by fried shrimp tails with mashed potatoes: I had flavoured the shrimp fisrt with water, extra-virgil olive oil and lemon juice. (that means, you have to keep soaking the shrimp for a while in this “emulsion”) Then, while cooking, i added minced garlic, parsley, salt and pepper; the last two minutes, i added smashed potatoes together with the shrimp, mixing up the ingredients for a better tasty and creamy flavour. For the presentation, i have divided the shrimp from the mashed potatoes in every portion, making a stripe of smashed potatoes and a circle of shrimp. I cannot take a single shot cause i had no time, i was too busy serving!

This time i couldn’t make “dessert”too, but Cinzia, my best friend, brought to us some delicious chocolate and caramel biscuits .. two packs .. we finished them .. all!The flavour of caramel was just so perfect with our strong espresso coffee we prepared. I must say we enjoyed good food and nice company!Everybody had kind words for my cooking, and i enjoy myself so much.. cooking for the people I care it’s so much fun, and it’s a way to make them feel cuddled!I must repeat the experience… as soon as possible (maybe with more time and some days to organize it!)

11 thoughts on “HOSPITALITY&CUDDLES

  1. Pingback: THE FRIDAY NIGHT RECIPE: SPAGHETTI BRANZINO&POMODORINI CONFIT | The Blog Around The Corner

    • Hello Tricia, pomodori confit are just a beautiful simple recipe, if you love vegetables you’ll adore them!
      Me too I love cooking risotto, so I always try new variations.
      See ya!Hugs – Cris

  2. CRIS – Oh my gosh, your descriptions of the food is making me SO very hungry.

    I am so impressed by all of your dishes! The last two, the shrimp with potatoes and chocolate caramel cookies, were so well described that photos were not needed. I could see them in my mind and taste them. A perfect meal!

    Your table settings are so gorgeous. I am a huge fan of blue and white. The backdrop with the red was such a nice juxtaposition. I love your style! Just beautiful.

    What a fun evening you must have had with your friends!

    I see you have a dog via Sealyham. He looks just our dog, who passed away, a Sealyham Terrier named Morgan.

    Take good care! – Shanna xx

    • Hi Shanna, good evening! How are you? Busy? Eh eh, i must think that you liked my menù.. Me too I was really satisfied of all dishes! 🙂
      For the table setting i wanted something simple and coloured, i think that combining white with another colour (quite all the other colours) is always a good choice.
      The dog is my sister’s dog, his name’s Puffy, he’s only one year old, and he’s a Maltese.It’s quite small, after all! (but he Always make big “Woooof” to scare all of us 🙂 )
      Big Hugs! Cris

      • Hi, Cris,
        I really think you have a lovely eye for aesthetic. Your tablescape is just breathtaking – and exactly to my taste.
        Oh, Puffy the Maltese! What a cutie! Your sister must adore him (when he is not barking too loud, hehe).
        I am sure you were satisfied with your dishes. They look quite divine!
        We are well – my email is shanna.ward@alumni.utexas.net, should you ever want to correspond.
        Best wishes,
        Shanna

      • Hi Shanna,
        Thank you for your always kind words.I’m honoured!
        Puffy is just an adorable bungler, when i go visit my parents and my sister (she’s only 12 years old) he greets me bringing to me a dirty sock in his mouth (probably one of my brother’s sock) 🙂
        Yeah, i’m so satisfied that i want to cook all the day in this period!
        My mail (Yeah, we should correspond!) is c.rendina@libero.it – you can find all my contacts on the page “ABOUT ME” (see links in the right column – take a look if you wish)
        Have a beautiful day! xoxo
        Cris

      • Hi, Cris,
        Cooking all day sounds like a great day – especially when it is cold outside.
        Puffy sounds so cute – dirty socks, HAHA – what a warm welcome, no?
        I shall take down your email! You are my go to gal for all things interior design and also for great Italian recipes! 🙂
        Enjoy your day.
        Warmest regards,
        Shanna xx

Leave a Reply

