BELLEZZE D’ITALIA: LAGO DI COMO

Hello!Happy New Year to all of you! Sorry for not being here during these days, but i was very busy eating (and preparing) any sort of food, visiting parents and friends, and so on .. I’m glad that after today we’ll return to normal routine, because I need time to organize what to write on the blog, of course! I would like to start the year describing our short trip to Lake Como (Lario) and Bellagio. I can’t imagine a better way to start the new year! Every time I travel to some place in Italy, I always discover something new and breathtaking views. I’ve always considered myself a real traveller, who catch every chance to travel, often abroad, but Italy remains my hometown and it’s plenty of places to discover.

Lagodicomo
Here a short account of our daily trip, with some shots that I took on the way. We took the highway till the exit Como/Chiasso (where is located the frontier post for Switzerland, Como is only 5 km before the boundary line). We start our tour from Bellagio, a tiny village on the lake shore, 35 km far from Como. The panoramic way is a narrow and tight-curved mountain road, that ran along the lake. We took some beautiful shots, even if weather was not really good. I suggest this itinerary because of the beauty of the landscape. It’s an area of ancient villas and tiny town, of acquatic sports and good food and products, like oil, wine, mushroom, and honey.

22222

6666
First of all, we took a tour in Bellagio towncenter, going up and down on the stairs that connect several levels. It’s really characteristic, and i can imagine how many tourists crowd the boutiques and the cafés during spring and summer. All around the town is tidy, clean and welcoming.
With the boats down to the lake shore you can easily join the other side of the lake and visite the other villages. (they take on board also the rented cars, so the excursions are just so easily to organize also by yourself.)

444444
3333

Bellagio is called the “pearl” of Lake Como, cause it’s undoubtedly the most famous resort on the lake. For centuries, its scenic location has enchanted artists and writers, not only from Italy, but also from abroad. It is situated on the tip of a headland that divides the lake into the two “legs” of Como and Lecco.  The town stretches along the coast and part of it goes up the slopes of the promontory.  Because of its location it has a great variety of views; indeed, it offers a good view of the whole lake. Finally, on the northern horizon, you can see the Pre-Alps.

55555
We had lunch in a tiny restaurant in Bellagio, (“Barchetta Restaurant”, I liked the name, – small boat – ) where we tasted some “bruschette” with tomatoes and extra virgin-oil, and I try a specialty of Northern Italy: Pizzoccheri, a type of pasta flavoured with cabbage, potatoes, local cheese and oil. It’s the perfect dish for a cold and windy winter day.
1111

In the afternoon, we returned to Como to take a tour in the citycenter, that is located on the lake shore. The Duomo Square, with one the biggest cathedral of the Northern Italy, surely deserves a visit. The citycenter presents even nowadays the typical aspect of the original roman “castrum-preserved medieval walls  and big observation towers (Porta Torre, Torre Gattoni, San Vitale).

7777

88888
9999910101010
There are many interesting sites to visit meandering through the streets of Como: historical monuments, beautiful villas and breath-taking sights .The historic centre is located inside the ancient city walls where there are many shops and boutiques, and plenty of cafes to rest and enjoy the view. It’s a really pleasant tour to make, I recommend it!Cris
19 thoughts on “BELLEZZE D’ITALIA: LAGO DI COMO

  1. Pingback: Lecco City : Sant'Omobono Imagna

    • ciao, bentornata!
      infatti sono riuscita a fare un minigiro in giornata, ma sarei voluta rimanere ancora un po’… tornerò sicuramente in primavera per esplorare altri dintorni! A presto!Cri

  2. Pingback: Lecco City : Sant’Omobono Imagna | Francesco Prestini Travel Tips - Tips for Travel

  3. Happy New Year, Cris! I am glad that you were able to visit your parents and some friends, as well. The photos are breathtaking, particularly of Lake Como…and your meal with the pizzoccheri must have been very tasty. The town of Bellagio looks adorable! You are so lucky to live near such beauty of nature and architecture. Thank you for sharing with us! Warm wishes, Shanna

    • Hello Shanna, here we’re returning back to normal “routine”, finally… I’ve never been in this area before, but it’s really beautiful (and near to my town also, only 1 hour 30 minutes) The pizzoccheri for us are a dish of pasta typic of mountains area, so they’re not widespread in my region.They’re really tasty!
      Bellagio is a tiny town but very crowded in spring and summer by English and German people. Thank you to you to take the time to read! Xoxo Cris

      • Ah, then it is so good that you can speak English! It seems that Italy has a lot of English-speaking tourists. Who wouldn’t want to spend time in your country? 🙂 Enjoy your weekend! I hope you can settle back in and have some fun. Warmest regards, Shanna xx

      • Hi there, my friend, are you ok? Yes, we’ve a lot of English tourists in Italy, prices are not so expensive after all for them, and it’s a rich cultural trip, of course, I think! But italians are not so good with foreign languages, in other countries I must say that I found people that could speak Italian in a better way than us speaking English …
        We’re slooowly setting back .. Have a great week-end! XOXO Cris

      • Cris – Well, your English is amazing! If I ever make it to Italy, I will be very grateful. As an American, I speak English… and Spanish… but that is all. I wish I could speak more languages, as you do. Enjoy your weekend! xx Shanna

      • Shanna – Thank you, you’re too kind, but i think i’m not so amazing. However, I’m a curious person, i love languages and I studied some English, French and Deutsch for a while.. I really would love to learn some Spanish, also! I can understand it, but i can’t speak it myself. However, you can study some basics of the languages, but you have to train them often, or you’ll lose soon the progress made .. Enjoy your Sunday! Xoxo Cris

  4. Beautiful photos, Cris. I’ve heard so much about Como, but have not yet been there. The only places in Italy that I’ve visited are Rome and Venice. I agree that there’s so much to discover in our own “back yards.” –Julie

    • Hi Julie, how are you? Yes, I agree, sometimes we don’t realize how much beauty there is all around, just near us. Wish you will visit Italy many times, Florence in particular. The “Lakes” area (Iseo, Garda, Como Lake) is really beautiful. I suggest it for a relaxing week-end. Hugs – Cris

Leave a Reply

