THE FRIDAY NIGHT RECIPE: SEDANINI TONNO, POMODORINI E OLIVE

Hello!Spring is here, and this week I thought to present you for FiestaFriday one of my common and simple pasta dish: i love this version of sedanini (they’re tiny maccheroni) with tuna, pachino tomatoes and olives (this time I used the taggiasche type). A perfect fresh pasta dish for the hot mounths!

20150311_132518

INGREDIENTS: (4 persons)

– 360/380 gr sedanini pasta;
– 1 can of tuna (extra virgin oil, or natural)
– 50/70 gr taggiasche olives (pitted);
– 150 gr pachino tomatoes;
– extra virgin olive oil;
– onion, or (garlic, if you like it);
– salt&pepper;
– oregano

PREPARATION:

First of all, cut the tomatoes in half, eliminating all the seeds and the water in the inside. (squeezing them lightly) In a small saucepan, put a bit of extra-virgin olive oil and let it warm up for 2 minutes. In the meanwhile, cut a tiny piece of onion (and/or garlic) and put it in the pan together with the oil, to flavour it. When the oil start to sizzle, throw away the onion. Add the cutted tomatoes to the oil, and let it “rest” for a bit out of the stove.

20150311_132529

In another pot, put 750 ml of water on the stove, add two teaspoon salt, and let the water reach the boil. When it’s ready, add the sedanini and let them boil for 8-9 minutes.

20150311_132537

In the meanwhile, add the taggiasche olives and the tuna to the tomatoes in the small saucepan. When the pasta is ready – al dente -, drain the pasta and put it in the saucepan, and finally cook all until creamy – 2 minutes -.

Buon Appetito!Cris

18 thoughts on “THE FRIDAY NIGHT RECIPE: SEDANINI TONNO, POMODORINI E OLIVE

  1. I like the method. I’ve never tried flavoring the oil with the onion or garlic, then throwing it away. And I’m hopeless about not wanting to get rid of the seeds, but okay, I’ll try it that way. But I will try it without the tuna–I’m a vegetarian. Grazie.

    • Hello Ellen, you’re welcome!Here in Italy is a common “start” to flavor the oil with onion. If you throw it away, pasta will have only a slighty scent of onion/garlic. Me, I’m the opposite for the seeds: I don’t like too much eating them. Oh, don’t worry: it’s really tasty also without tuna. Grazie a te!Cristina

    • I know it’s a bit hard to find abroad all the type of pasta we currently have in Italy…but the taste will be unchanged, I’m sure!
      As always, thanks for your kind words. Cris

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #59 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Oh, my! Glad I just finished taking me meal. However, I don’t mind having this pasta in the next few minutes. 😀 Thanks for sharing, Cris. Happy FF. 🙂

Leave a Reply

